Book Review Beauty for Ashes by Dorothy Love

Beauty for Ashes
Dorothy Love
Hickory Ridge Romance, Book 2
Buy the book from Thomas Nelson

Back of the book:
After losing her husband in the Civil War, Carrie Daly is scared she will never have the family she longs for. Eligible bachelors are scarce in Hickory Ridge, Tennessee, but Carrie has found love. Not the weak-in-the-knees kind, but something practical. Still, she isn’t quite ready to set a wedding date with Nate Chastain.

Griff Rutledge is a former member of Charleston society, but has been estranged from his family for years. He’s determined to remain unattached, never settling in one place for too long. But when asked to train a Thoroughbred for an upcoming race in Hickory Ridge, he decides to stay awhile.

Despite objections from the townsfolk, and her fear that true happiness has eluded her, Carrie is drawn to Griff’s kindness and charm. It will take a leap of faith for them to open their hearts and claim God’s promise to give beauty for ashes.

About the Author:
Before returning to her writing roots in historical fiction, Dorothy Love published twelve novels for young adults. Her work has garnered numerous honors from the American Library Association, the Friends of American Writers, the International Reading Association, the New York Public Library, and many others. The Hickory Ridge Novels mark her Christian fiction debut.
For more about Dorothy visit her website, or friend her on Facebook.

My thoughts:
I must begin by saying that I think this story is better being read after reading the first in the series. The first book is entitled Beyond All Measure. There are many references in Beauty for Ashes to the first book in the series and I just think it would be more enjoyable to read them in order.

I enjoyed the storyline and the setting, but my favorite thing was the depth that the author gave her characters. She did a great job capturing the dynamics between family members. The tension between Carrie and Mary was very well written.

The end of the book was satisfying yet it left you with just enough of a cliffhanger to make you look forward to book three in the series. The note from the author in the back of the book said that the next book will be out a year from now. The note also gave interesting information on what parts of the book were based on facts and what parts were fictitious. This book also included discussion questions.

This is a series worth picking up especially if you enjoy Civil War era fiction.

 Read what others had to say on the Blog Tour.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or
Services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it
on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally
and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance
With the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides concerning the
Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Designed by: NW Designs