Book Review ~ Taming the Wind by Tracie Peterson

Tracie Peterson
Land of the Lone Star, Book 3

Back of the book:

A young widow nursing the wounds of her past . . . a cowboy with demons of his own . . .

Though grateful for the blessing of her daughter, Carissa Lowe has accepted that widowhood is her lot in life. Bound by fear and mistrust, she feels incapable of opening her heart again.

Tyler Atherton has never forgotten Carissa. When he discovers she’s living with her sister on a nearby ranch, his life becomes intertwined with the lovely widow’s. And Carissa’s daughter, Gloria, seems determined to wrap herself around his little finger. But while Tyler longs to provide a home and future for Carissa, he is haunted by an obligation he feels unable to fulfill.

Challenged by mounting hardships, can Carissa and Tyler preserve their fledgling love in a land as unforgiving and vibrant as the people who call it home?

About the author:

Tracie Peterson is the award-winning author of over eighty novels, both historical and contemporary. Her avid research resonates in her stories, as seen in her bestselling Heirs of Montana and Alaskan Quest series. Tracie and her family make their home in Montana. Visit Tracie's Web site at and her blog at

My thoughts:

I was reading Tracie Peterson’s bio and it said that she has written over 95 books. To me that is an amazing accomplishment. I am of the opinion that her writing just continues to get better and better.

This new series, Land of the Lonestar, is set during the Civil War. The third book, Taming the Wind, picks the story up about three years after Lee has surrendered. The story has all the elements of a great western romance. There is a cattle drive through hostile Indian Territory, a renegade bad guy that kidnaps the damsel, the stolen land that is somehow redeemed, and of course the tension filled budding romance. What’s not to like?!!

A wonderful thing about this series is that it is designed for anyone to read. The storyline continues throughout all three books, but if you only pick up this third one it will be okay. Tracie cleverly fills in the blanks of background information without boring previous readers. I usually don’t like books that go back over past material, but this book does it in a way that seems natural rather than redundant.

The order of the series is: Chasing the Sun, Touching the Sky, and Taming the Wind. Grab them all and enjoy several hours in the untamed “Land of the Lonestar.”

“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or
Services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it
on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally
and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance
With the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides concerning the
Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Designed by: NW Designs