Book Review ~ You Don’t Know Me by Susan May Warren @SusanMayWarren

Susan May Warren
Deep Haven Series

Back of the book:

The secret she’s kept to protect her family could be the very thing that tears them apart.

To all who know her, Annalise Decker is a model wife and mother. She’s a permanent member of the PTA, never misses a sporting event, and is constantly campaigning for her husband’s mayoral race.

No one knows that Annalise was once Deidre O’Reilly, a troubled young woman whose testimony put a dangerous criminal behind bars. Relocated through the Witness Security Program to the quaint harbor town of Deep Haven, Deidre received a new identity and a fresh start, which began when she fell in love with local real estate agent Nathan Decker.

Twenty years later, Annalise couldn’t be more unprepared for her past to find her. When Agent Frank Harrison arrives with news that the man she testified against is out on parole and bent on revenge. Annalise must face the consequences of her secrets. Will she run again, or will she find the courage to trust those she loves most with both her past and her future?

About the author:

Susan May Warren is the RITA award-winning novelist of over thirty novels. A five-time Christy award finalist, a two-time RITA Finalist, she’s also a multi-winner of the Inspirational Readers Choice award, and the ACFW Carol Award.

A seasoned women’s events speaker, she’s a popular writing teacher at conferences around the nation and the author of the beginning writer’s workbook: From the Inside-Out: discover, create and publish the novel in you!

Find out more about Susan May at

My thoughts:

The Witness Protection Program has always fascinated me. What would it be like to leave everything and everyone behind and start a new life? How hard would it be to become virtually dead to all your loved ones? That is the premise behind You Don’t Know Me.

Annalise has already given everything up to save herself and many others. She has been relocated to Deep Haven, which is one of those towns to rival the likes of Mitford or Avonlea. In fact I would love to live there among its wonderful residents if it weren’t for the bitterly cold winters.

This story really begins twenty years after Annalise’s relocation. She’s happily married raising three teenagers. Her life takes a completely unexpected turn when her “Uncle” Frank shows up. The prospect of having to relocate again is overwhelming. Through Annalise’s story you realize that no one is an island unto themselves. Our actions always cause a ripple effect that reaches far wider than we ever anticipate.

I was totally engrossed in the story. Just thinking of the logistics of this situation has kept me pondering the book for days. Susan has once again written a gut wrenching story about one of the most difficult situations imaginable. What I enjoy most is that she always includes eternal hope in her stories.

The Deep Haven series can be read as stand-alone books. There is a story line that runs throughout, but the main story in each individual book is distinct. I love this series and think that you will too.

 “Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or
Services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it
on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally
and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance
With the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides concerning the
Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Designed by: NW Designs