Fear Has A Name by Creston Mapes ~ A Suspense Book Review

Creston Mapes
The Crittendon Files, Book 1

About the book:

How Far Would He Go To Keep Them Safe?

It was more than a break-in. More than a stalking. It was personal. When a stalker targets his family, journalist Jack Crittendon must uncover who the person is and what his motives are—if he is to protect the ones he loves. It will lead Crittendon into a world of behind-closed-door secrets and faith gone awry, as does his investigation of a missing pastor, whose apparent suicide is more than it appears.

Each move Crittendon makes weaves him tighter and tighter into a web of lies, greed, hypocrisy, sin, and danger. He believed he’d never give in to fear. But that was before. And holding on to his faith won’t be easy. Nor will keeping his family safe, and ending the terror. Because that might require him to step over lines he never dared to cross.

My thoughts:

I always read something before bed. On this particular night it was already late but I picked up Fear Has A Name and began to read. By the end of chapter one I was completely creeped out but I just couldn’t put the book down. I should have known better than to start a Creston Mapes’ book that late at night!

I was utterly intrigued by the emotions this work of fiction aroused. At the beginning I hated the stalker/intruder. How dare he invade someone’s home and threaten harm to a helpless mom and her two daughters! What type of man does that?

We soon find out who this sick person is and then the struggle begins. The story delves into the idea of showing mercy to one who by all humanly speaking accounts doesn’t deserve it. It is easy to hate someone you don’t know but what about that person that you do? What if you’ve grown up with this person and you know what they’ve been subject to?

Mr. Mapes weaves for us an electrifying, heart-pumping tale that draws you into the mind of each of the characters. But what sets this novel apart from other thrillers is that it also makes us consider the mind of God. Through gut wrenching circumstances the individuals are faced with decisions that force them to acknowledge that not only is God in control but He also has a plan that is way bigger than the persons that are directly involved.

This was an amazing kick off to a new series. I’m looking forward to reading the next book in the series which will be titled Poison Town.  In total suspense style, Creston and David C. Cook Publishers have included the first couple of chapters of Poison Town in the back of Fear Has A Name. Why oh why did I read it . . . it cuts off at a very critical point and now I’ll have to wait until February 2014 to read the rest! Can you say ANTICIPATION?!!

Connect with the author:

1 comment:

Blog Designed by: NW Designs